top of page

Sophia Tufariello

At Emory, with the immense love and support from my friends and family, I began my journey as a queer woman, performer, and scholar. My classes in both the Theater Studies and the Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies departments were integral for me in finding my voice as a theater artist. I have been deeply involved with student theater at both the Oxford and Emory campuses.


At Oxford, I worked in the scene shop under the supervision of the wonderful Jessie Rivers and I served as the Technical Director of OxBroadway. At Emory, I have performed in both Ad Hoc and Dooley's Players shows and served as Treasurer of Ad Hoc Productions. (Some of my favorite roles have included Medium Alison in Fun Home, #25 in the Wolves, and Charon in The Lightning Thief.) This semester, I made my directorial debut (Hearing Voices: Politics and Identity), which I felt perfectly wrapped up my Emory experience/education by combining theater with social activism.


What's next? Post-Emory I hope to work as a teaching artist for young children interested in theater in the Atlanta area. I plan on spending a few years here to get hands-on, professional experience performing and teaching, and then I will go on to grad school to get a masters degree in either education or acting. My Emory experience has helped me discover my interests in performance, youth education, and theater as a means for social change and advocacy. My dream is to do all three for the rest of my life.


Favorite accomplishment? I directed Emory's first production of Hearing Voices, a site-specific theater experience that originated at Oxford College. Hearing Voices' aim is to amplify the voices and stories of Emory students who are a part of historically silenced (i.e. marginalized) groups. The theme of this production was Politics and Identity, inspired by Tom Zhang's Creating New Works class in the Spring of 2022. It featured pieces--all written and performed by Emory students--which discussed queerness, sex, mental health, institutionalization, capitalism, neurodivergence, and all the ways in which our intersecting identities both free and confine us.




Welcome to our comment section! Here you can leave a note for our graduate.

You can either create an account to post a comment, or you can post as a guest.

When posting as a guest, make sure to include your name in the comment so our graduate can identify you!

bottom of page