top of page

Yide (John) Cai

Yide (John) Cai

I came to Emory as a insecure, unsettled, yet ambitious freshman who liked writing but not sure what I could do with it. And I found playwriting to be a very speical and attractive major, so I decided to give it a try. The first year went really well. I enjoyed all my classes, and I was in a theater production that was going to Edingburgh, but then the pandemic came. It was a tough time, but it also made me certian that I wanted to do theater and playwriting. So, I started writing better and doing zoom theater. Then, finally things started to be back to normal, and a breakthrough point for me was the Macbeth production which inspired me to write even better and more committed to theater. Now, I'm ready to do theater full-time.


What's next? I'm applying and waiting to hear back from many internships and apprenticeships. Some are related to playwriting, and some are theater in general. I know that I'm going to do an internship with the German national theater in Weimar this November, and I have the interests of producers in China to produce my plays.


Favorite accomplishment? I brought a lot of my Chinese classmates and classmates who study German into the world of theater. Most of them had no experience with it, but they ended up loving it.




Welcome to our comment section! Here you can leave a note for our graduate.

You can either create an account to post a comment, or you can post as a guest.

When posting as a guest, make sure to include your name in the comment so our graduate can identify you!

bottom of page